UK seeking meeting with Norton next year

Support Village Voice News With a Donation of Your Choice.

The British High Commissioner, Jane Miller has congratulated Aubrey Norton on becoming Leader of the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR), following the 21st Biennial Delegates Congress elections on 18 December, 2021.
In a letter sent to Mr. Norton it was noted by the HC that “I look forward to meeting you in the New Year and working together on issues affecting the people of Guyana.

Norton secured 900 plus votes to win the leadership race by a landslide over the other contenders, Joseph Harmon and Dr. Richard Van West-Charles, the Party’s Chief Elections Officer (CEO), Vincent Alexander has confirmed.
Releasing the official results for the party’s five top positions during a virtual press conference on Sunday, Alexander disclosed that Norton secured 967 votes while Harmon raked in 245 votes and Dr. Van West-Charles, 64 votes. Norton’s installation as Leader of the PNCR is expected to take place on Monday. He replaces David Granger.
Shurwayne Holder, an Opposition Member of Parliament who hail from Region Two (Pomeroom-Supenaam), is poised to be the next Chairman of PNCR, replacing Volda Lawrence.

during PNCR’s 21st Biennial Delegates Congress on Saturday, 10 persons contested for the Chairmanship with Holder securing a whopping 407 votes followed by Senior Counsel Roysdale Forde, MP with 256 and Attorney-at-Law Amanza Walton-Desir, 217. Additionally, Gary Best secured 156 votes; Simona Broomes, 13; Dawn Hastings-Williams, 5; Christopher Jones, 51; Aubrey Norton, 55; Sharma Solomon, 36; and Mervyn Williams 4.
For the position of Treasurer, nine persons contested for the position. In that electoral race, Mohammed Faaiz Mursaline emerged as the winner with 404 votes. The other candidates, Dr. Karen Cummings secured 303 votes; Ivelaw Henry, 41 votes; Vanessa Kissoon, 83 votes; Derrick Lawrence, 67 votes; Elson Low, 116; Ubraj Narine, 144 votes; and Daniel Seeram, 303 votes. Meanwhile, Elizabeth Williams Niles was elected 1ST Vice Chairperson with 470 votes while Christopher Jones and Vinceroy Jordan tied for the 2ND Vice Chairman.


Support Village Voice News With a Donation of Your Choice

Next Post

PSC irked by Norton calling them politically-biased

Tue Dec 21 , 2021
Support Village Voice News With a Donation of Your Choice. The Private Sector Commission has extended congratulations to Aubrey Norton on his election as the Leader of the Peoples National Congress, but takes umbrage with him deeming them a politically-biased outfit. “The Commission looks forward to Mr. Norton leading a strong, responsible and vibrant opposition, upholding the Constitution and urging […]

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Are you sure want to unlock this post?
Unlock left : 0
Are you sure want to cancel subscription?