Only applicants who meet criteria to be interviewed for top GECOM posts– Alexander

Support Village Voice News With a Donation of Your Choice.

… Commissioners to scrutinise CVs of those shortlisted in coming week
The Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM), headed by Justice (Ret’d) Claudette Singh, today (November 26) agreed that the applicants, who have been shortlisted for the seven top electoral posts including that of the Chief Elections Officer (CEO), will be further assessed to determine whether they meet the criteria set out by the Commission.
“We agreed that we should now go to the criteria and scrutinize the shortlist to see if the people meet the basic criteria,” Elections Commissioner Vincent Alexander told Village Voice News on Friday shortly after existing the meeting.
He said the agreement was reached with the support of all of the Election Commissioners with the exception of Commissioner Bibi Shadick.
“We are to meet on Tuesday, and to work Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday if necessary to finalize the list on that basis,” he noted.
According to Alexander, based on the agreement reached only the shortlisted applicants, who have reached the criteria will be interviewed.
Based on the integrated list generated, six persons have been shortlisted for the post of CEO from a total of 20 applicants. They include, GECOM’s former Public Relations Officer, Vishnu Persaud; its current Information Technology Manager, Aneal Giddings; St. Kitts’ Eugene Petty; DeodatPersaud; Dr. Kurt Clarke from the US and Leslie Harrow from Jamaica
Based on the requirements set by GECOM, Candidates for the CEO post, must have a Post Graduate Degree in Public Administration, Law, Management or relevant discipline from a reputable and recognized institution, and specific training and verifiable experience in managing election systems along with at least 10 years of experience in a senior management position overseeing and directing diverse operations aimed at achieving targets within specific deadlines. Additionally, they are required to have at least 10 years of experience in Management of National Elections and Election Systems.
Additionally, those shortlisted for the position of Deputy Chief Elections Officer (DCEO) are Melanie Marshall, Neil Bacchus, Mohamed Arjoon and DeodatPersaud.
Further, Delon Clarke, Paul Jaisingh, Mohamed Arjoon, Nolan Jervis, Colin April, Melanie Marshall, Natasha GrenionDipchand, DeolallRamlall, DeodatPersaud, Neil Bacchus and Andrea Sparman were shortlisted for the Assistant Chief Elections Officer (ACEO) post.
Candidates have also been shortlisted for the posts of Legal Officer, Chief Accountant, Civic and Voter Education Manager and Logistics Manager.

Support Village Voice News With a Donation of Your Choice

Next Post

Court of Appeal to decide whether it has jurisdiction to hear Election Petition next month

Fri Nov 26 , 2021
Support Village Voice News With a Donation of Your Choice. The Court of Appeal will decide on December 21 whether it has jurisdiction to hear an appeal challenging the High Court’s decision to nullify Election Petition 99 over noncompliance of service, Chancellor of the Judiciary (ag) Yonette Cummings-Edwards announced on Friday. At the time, the Chancellor (ag) was presiding over […]

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Are you sure want to unlock this post?
Unlock left : 0
Are you sure want to cancel subscription?